Ultrasonic Bird Replellers

Have you added something to your boat? Got pictures of a project? Post them here at our catch-all forum for the things we do to make our boats better.

Moderator: KenKrawford

TBOT422

Ultrasonic Bird Replellers

Post by TBOT422 »

Has anyone had any experience with ultrasonic bird repellers? Our current problem is a couple of pigeons that want to take up residence between our solar panels and the bimini. We were out cruising for a month and I thought they would find a new home, but the minute we returned they came back. At some times during the year we have massive flocks of crows and black birds at dawn and dusk that would also be nice to keep off the rigging.

Do these ultrasonic repellers actually work?

Thanks
Gary & Janet
The Best of Times (Hull #422)
SeaBreeze

Re: Ultrasonic Bird Replellers

Post by SeaBreeze »

I have no experience with ultrasonic bird repellers but I’ll pass along a couple of ideas to keep birds off the spreaders and mast head. A rigger in St Pete, FL mounted a home made device very similar to a Bird B Gone deflector on my mast head. Google the company name then search ‘bird spider 360’. In my case the rigger used 4 wires mounted to a round base on the mast head. The wires are about 2.5’ long and project out over the windex, TV antenna and wind speed transducer at about a 45 degree angle to the water. They droop a bit. By trial and error we learned the wires need to be a bit stiff or they flop around too much while sailing and can get caught in the transducer or windex. No negative effect on VHF transmission or reception. So far the dreaded ospreys are taking their rest stops elsewhere. The second thing he did was run thin stainless steel wire from the mast to the standing rigging parallel to and about 5” above each spreader. Probably very small birds could balance on the wire but not the bigger guys. So far, after 2 months, we have had no bird problems other than the rare dive bomber dropping his load on his wa